Atlanta Rovers


July 26, 2009 Under-19 Boys – Baltimore Casa Mia Bays (MD) 2, NASA 08 Elite (GA) 0

North Atlanta Soccer Association U-19 team makes in to the National finals

The James P. McGuire Cup, the oldest youth sport trophy in the country, founded in 1935, featured the Baltimore Casa Mia Bays (MD) and North Atlanta SA 08 Elite (GA). The first half appeared destined for a scoreless draw until John Raley’s cross in the 45thminute to Mark Jaskolski gave the Bays the 1-0 lead. NASA went on the attack after the half, seeking the equalizer with Gerard Barbero and Mark Lavery making several entries deep into the Bays’ third. Michael Lansing stole a pass intended for a NASA player that led to a breakaway by Brendan Klebanoff. Klebanoff beat one defender for a one-on-one with NASA keeper Alec Kann, who he beat to the far post for the 2-0 win in the 89th minute.

Although the NASA team fell short, they had a great run and represented themselves and the club very well.

NASA’s Goal Keeper, Alec Kann, earned the tournament’s Golden Glove award as the top Goal Keeper while NASA’s Chris Klute was awarded the Golden Boot as the tournament’s Most Valuable Player!

Well done to the boys and their outstanding Coach Todd Gispert.

July 23, 2009 Coming off of a day one scoreless tie with the Baltimore Bays, Georgia’s North Atlanta Soccer (NASA) 08 Elite was looking to get the offense going in today’s game against Colorado Rush. Christopher Klute had a 3rd minute goal for the early NASA lead. The Rush stayed poised, but was unable to finish any of their five shots on goal. NASA won 1-0 and are set to play Pike Indy Burn of Indiana in the final day of round robin games tomorrow. Win or a tie for NASA tomorrow and they are playing for the National Championship Sunday.

The following players comprise the U19 team:

Alec Kann, Furman
Connor Coons, to attend Virginia Tech
Tommy Vania, Missouri State
Warren Creavalle, Furman
Chris Klute, Furman
Riley Sumpter, Clemson
Gerard Barbero, Missouri State
Cam Miller, Missouri State
Cam Wilder, to attend Kentucky
Mark Lavery, Kentucky
Jahbari Willis, FIU
Russell Thompson, Ogelthorpe
Andre Santos, Lipscomb
Tyler Beadle, to attend Kentucky
Jonathan Leach, Jacksonville
Tyler Barcelli, UAB
Brian Wingfield, Temple
Samer Kaddah, Kennesaw State